Automatic backup and recovery of models

AnyLogic supports automatic backup and recovery of models to prevent data loss in the case of emergent shutdowns.

Models are automatically saved in the background when the defined autosave interval (by default - 5 minutes) elapses from the moment of the last save. The model is saved in the same folder (as Model name.autosave.alp).


Optionally you can change the autosave interval and even switch the autosave off. This can be done in the AnyLogic Preferences dialog (it can be opened from the main menu: Tools > Preferences... ).


Autosave settings on the General page of AnyLogic Preferences dialog

Suppose that you work for a long time without saving your model(s) and some emergent shutdown (e.g. blackout-induced) suddenly occurs. Now when you start AnyLogic after such a shutdown, you are able to open not the model that you saved by yourself (possibly, very long ago), but the one that was recently automatically saved. Thus, this mechanism always provides you with practically up-to-date version of the model. 

Starting AnyLogic after an emergent shutdown, you will see the message box informing you that there is more recent version of the model than the one AnyLogic is opening at the moment. You will be suggested to Replace Model with automatically saved copy, or Discard autosave and open original model

In case you decide to substitute the original model file with the automatically saved version, you may secure yourself and leave the original model file too. Therefore, choose the option Keep a copy of original model... in this dialog box. In this case the original model file will be saved in the same folder, as Model name.alp.original.

Automatic backup mechanism may save your data from unexpected loss. But to prevent the loss completely, we strongly recommend you to save your models by yourself frequently.