Typical SVN work cycle: Edit, Update, Commit
Often with SVN (and most other SCM systems), once you have checked out
your project, or shared it, you work in a simple cycle:
- Update. First of all we recommend you to update your working copy of the project with the last version from the repository.
- Edit. Then you can edit your working copy.
- Update your working copy with other people's committed
changes. While your are working, editing, debugging, etc., others (if you are
working in a team) may commit changes to the project. To keep up, you
have to update whenever you are ready to do so, e.g. when your changes
are stable. You should also always update immediately before your
commit your work.
Should an update concern one of the resources that you had modified,
SVN will try to merge those changes. This will work if your changes do
not overlap the changes made in the repository, but in case of a
conflicting change (e.g. in case the same line of model code was edited
locally and by some other's people), the affected resources in your
working copy are
marked as being conflicted. In this case you can use whether you want
to use your local copy or the incoming copy from the SVN repository.
- Commit your changes to the repository. Once you are pleased with all your changes, it is time to commit them
to the repository. SVN will never let you commit changes that are
out-of-sync, and will force you to update in the event of a collision,
but this only covers the cases when the affected resources require
updating. This is why you need to update first and
review your change.